Masavu team players at Lake Victoria Primary School before a previous friendly against Entebbe Select. The game ended 3 all
  • Uganda Cup (Round of 32)
  • Igombe 1-5  Masavu

Striker Peter Lumolo was scintillating form as he single handedly led the rout of Eastern Regional side Igombe 5-1 in a Uganda Cup Round of 32 match played on Wednesday at the Iganga Ssaza grounds.

Lumolo opened the scoring as early as the 20th minute as the first stanza of the game ended 1-0 in favour of the visitors.

In the second half, Lumolo, who has also previously played at Kitara and Kisubi Football Clubs completed the massacre with three individual goals before Robert Sentongo Junior wrapped up business for Allan Kabonge’s side who, last weekend, lost 4-0 to Mbarara City in the Big League.

Lumolo is now joint top scorer of the Uganda Cup on 4 goals, same as Soana’s Frank Kalanda.

Benson Makaira got the consolation for the home side coached by  Asuman Kibirango.

Kabonge has now set the target of lifting the Uganda Cup.

I want to guide another club to the finals of the Uganda Cup once again like I did with Onduparaka last season.

I also want that trophy after missing out narrowly the previous year.

His counterpart, Kibirango cast the blame game on inexperience of his charges coming to the game.

Masavu was way above us. They were prepared mentally and physically. We could have matched them, but the players panicked at some stage and we made costly mistakes.

Hopefully, it was a perfect learning trend ahead of our next Regional League matches.

Igombe had earlier ejected a Big League side, Entebbe F.C at the Fisheries Training Institute, Bugonga in Entebbe Division A.

Other successful clubs:

Masavu now joins 13 more clubs that have already booked their places in the round of 16 stage.

These are; KCCA, Express, Buganda regional sides Kyetume and Kiboga Young, Fort Portal Boda Boda, Onduparaka, Sadolin Paints, JMC Hippos, Police, URA FC, Water, Baza Holdings and Mbale based Big League side, Kataka.

Next Matches:

There are two remaining games at the Round of 32 stage.

Lira’s Bright Light will host Paidha Black Angels at the Lira Technical college on Saturday.

On the following day, Soana will take on defending champions, Vipers at Kavumba Recreational stadium.

The winner of the Uganda Cup represents the country at the CAF Confederation cup.

Uganda Cup (formerly Kakungulu Cup) Winners since 1971:

1971 –Coffee F.C

1972-1975-Not Held

1976– Gangama F.C

1977– Simba F.C

1978 – Nsambya F.C

1979 – KCC F.C

1980 – KCC F.C

1981 – Coffee F.C

1982 – KCC F.C

1983 – SC Villa F.C

1984 – KCC F.C

1985 – Express F.C

1986 – SC Villa F.C

1987 – KCC F.C

1988 – SC Villa

1989 – SC Villa

1990 – KCC F.C

1991 – Express F.C

1992 – Express F.C

1993 – KCC F.C

1994 – Express F.C

1995 – Express F.C

1996 – UEB S.C

1997 – Express F.C

1998 – SC Villa

1999 – Mbale Heroes S.C

2000 – SC Villa

2001 – Express F.C

2002 – SC Villa

2003 – Express F.C

2004 – KCC F.C

2005 – URA F.C

2006 – Express F.C

2007 – Express F.C

2007/8 – Victors S.C

2008/9 – SC Villa

2009/10 – Victors S.C

2010/11 – Simba S.C

2011/12 – URA F.C

2013/2013 – Sports Club Victoria University

2013/2014 – URA F.C

2014/15 –  Sports Club Villa

2015/16 – Vipers Sports Club

David Isabirye is a senior staff writer for Kawowo Sports where he covers most of the major events.

Leave a comment

Please let us know what you think