Guinea U-20 team Credit: CAF Online Media

CHAN 2018 Qualifiers:

  • Guinea 5-0 Senegal (Aggregate: 6-3)

Guinea humiliated rivals Senegal 5-0 in a one sided encounter of the CHAN 2018 qualifiers at the Stade du 28 Septembre on Wednesday.

[/media-credit] Guinea U-20 team Credit: CAF Online Media

The result overturned the earlier 3-1 loss that Guinea suffered in the first leg to book a slot at the 2018 edition set for Kenya after a 6-3 aggregate result.

Amadou Sekou Camara scored a hat-trick in the match that was earlier scheduled for Tuesday before it was extended by 24 hours following heavy rains.

Mohamed N’Diaye and Ibrahima Sory Sankhon scored the other goals.

It was the second successive landslide home triumph for the Syli Nationale (National Elephants) after thrashing Guinea-Bissau 7-1 in the previous round.

Camara scored four goals in the match against Guinea Bissau.

He finished the qualifying competition as the leading scorer with eight goals.

Countries at CHAN 2018 completed:

Guinea joins already Angola, Burkina Faso, Cameroon, Congo Brazzaville, Equatorial Guinea, Ivory Coast, Kenya, Libya, Mauritania, Morocco, Namibia, Nigeria, Sudan, Uganda and Zambia and hosts Kenya.

Africa Nations Championship tournament is restricted to footballers playing in their country of birth (in the domestic leagues).

The matches carry full international status and count toward the monthly FIFA rankings.

The competition was introduced in 2008 to give home-based stars international exposure as many Africa Cup of Nations squads are dominated by professionals playing in Europe.

Reigning champions, Democratic Republic of Congo will not manage to defend their title won during the 2016 edition in Rwanda, after they were eliminated by nemesis Congo Brazzaville.

Kenya is the tentative host for the final tournament if don’t lose rights to host the event (following delays to complete the facilities required).

The final tournament will be held between 11th January to 2nd February 2018.

Successful countries so far

  • Northern Zone: Libya, Morocco
  • West Zone A & B: Mauritania, Nigeria, Ivory Coast, Burkina Faso, Guinea
  • Central Zone:  Equatorial Guinea, Congo, Cameroon
  • Central East Zone: Kenya (hosts), Uganda, Sudan
  • Southern Zone: Angola, Zambia, Namibia

David Isabirye is a senior staff writer for Kawowo Sports where he covers most of the major events.

Leave a comment

Please let us know what you think