FUS Rabat Lineup vs. KCCA Credit: © Kawowo Sports | JOHN BATANUDDE

2017 CAF Confederation Cup: Quarter finals (2nd Leg)

  •  CS Sfaxien (Tunisia) 1-0 FUS Rabat (Morocco)

* FUS Rabat qualified 5-4 on penalties

  • Zesco United (Zambia) 2-2 Super Sport United (South Africa)

*Super Sport United qualified on away goals’ rule

[/media-credit] FUS Rabat Lineup vs. KCCA earlier in the competition at Lugogo in Kampala Credit: © Kawowo Sports | JOHN BATANUDDE

Moroccan side FUS Rabat eliminated Tunisia’s CS Sfaxien from the CAF Confederation Cup following a 5-4 shoot out win.

The result was good enough to see the Moroccan side book a place in the semi final

Midfielder Karim Aouadhi scored the only goal as Sfaxien, three-time winners of the second-tier continental club championship won 1-0 in regulation to make it 1-1 on aggregate, forcing the tie to be decided via penalties.

Aouadhi metamorphosed from hero to villain failing to convert his penalty, blasting wide, which cost his team a place at the semis of the competition.

FUS Rabat, 2010 winners’ lone goal advantage was annulled by Aouadhi’s 24th minute strike from the spot after Naif Aguerd handled a Maher Hanachi header.

Both teams failed to hit the back of the net thereafter with the visiting Moroccans reduced to ten men on the stroke of full time after left back Saad Ait Khorsa was sent off after recieving a second yellow card.

Badr Boulhroude, Lamine Diakite, El Mehdi El Bassil, Zakaria Benlamachi and Mohamed Saoud scored for FUS Rabat against Meriah Yassine, Hamza Mathlouthi, Ala Marzougui and Oussama Amdouni for Sfaxien.

FUS Rabat will face either holders TP Mazembe of DR Congo or Sudanese debutants Hilal Obeid at the last four. TP Mazembe hosts Hilal Obeid in Lubumbashi.

The other two quarter finals will be played on Sunday, 24th September 2017.

Tunisia’s Club Africain hosts MC Alger of Algeria. The Algerians carry a 1-0 lead.

In Lubumbashi, TP Mazembe hosts Sudan’s Hilal Obeid. Mazembe won 2-1 from the first leg.

Next Games:

Sunday, 24th September 2017

  •  Club Africain (Tunisia) vs MC Alger (Algeria) – Tunis
  •  TP Mazembe (DR Congo) vs Hilal Obeid (Sudan) – Lubumbashi

David Isabirye is a senior staff writer for Kawowo Sports where he covers most of the major events.

Leave a comment

Please let us know what you think