Arthur Ssegwanyi Credit: Courtesy
Arthur Ssegwanyi [L] is defending champion

One of the biggest events in the Uganda Chess Federation [UCF] calendar will wind-up the month as the Rwabushenyi Memorial Open Chess Championship commences on November 30.

The Championship, organized in honor of the former UCF president, the late Cyril Rwabushenyi, was not held last year because the federation lacked funding.

The Open’s main benefactor Civil Aviation Authority offered to sponsor the African Individual Chess Championships instead.

It, however, returns next week on Thursday, with the Civil Aviation Authority still on board as sponsors. A sum of Ugx5m has been put aside as prize money to be divided among respective winners.

Harold Wanyama is a record winner

Over 150 players from across the region are set to compete at this four-day event, and Uganda’s top players will see this as an opportunity to redeem themselves after a mediocre display at the recently concluded Uganda Open.

The quartet of International Master Arthur Ssegwanyi, IM Elijah Emojong, FM Harold Wanyama and FM Haruna Nsubuga had a tourney to forget, and the Rwabushenyi will be seen as a chance to recover.

Elijah Emojong is a former champion

Ssegwanyi enters the event as the defending champion having won it in 2015. The tourney was held twice in 2015. Wanyama won the January edition while Ssegwanyi triumphed in the December one.

Only three players have been fortunate to win the Rwabushenyi, the other being Emojong. Emojong has won it twice same as Ssegwanyi while Wanyama has prevailed three times.

Marion Malinga

Staff Writer for Kawowo Sports

Leave a comment

Please let us know what you think