The World Cup trophy Credit: Courtesy

Following a weekend in Ethiopia, the gorgeous FIFA World Cup Trophy has arrived in the neigbouring Kenya on Monday.

For starters, Kenya is among the ten African destinations in the Trophy’s 51-country global tour.

Newly re-elected President Uhuru Kenyatta will also have a  feel of the trophy at his Nairobi based State House,

The Trophy tour concedes with the visit of the International Automobile Federation (FIA) president Jean Todt who is in Kenya to open the Safari Rally WRC Project offices at Kasarani and commission the offices set up by the Government in its bid to return Kenya to World Rally status.

This will be the first high-profile activity for the new Cabinet secretary for Sports, Rashid Echesa.

Among the VIPs at the Jomo Kenyatta airport to welcome the world’s most coveted football trophy was the Coke Senior franchise brand manager, Rodney Nzioka.

This is the third Fifa Football World Cup Trophy Tour in Kenya.

The Sports CS received the trophy, delivered by Willfreight Express Cargo Services after going through customs clearance at the airport.

On Tuesday, fans will have an opportunity to see the trophy at Kenyatta International Convention Centre.

After 48 hour in Kenya, the FIFA World Cup trophy will head to Mozamibque on the last day of February 2018 (Wednesday, 28th).

On March 1st and 2nd, the trophy will be in Johannesburg and Cape Town City shall host the entourage on March 3rd.

From Cape Town, the trophy will be flown to Kampala on 5th and 6th March 2018.

On 5th March 2018, the World Cup trophy will be recieved at Entebbe International Airport before it will be hosted by the head of state, President Yoweri Kaguta Museveni at Entebbe State House.

Only heads of states and former winners are allowed to handle the FIFA World Cup trophy with their naked hands.

The same day, it will be taken to the Century bottling company headquarters at Namanve and there will be an official public viewing opportunity at the Lugogo Cricket Oval in Kampala.

Nigeria, Senegal, Cote D’Ivoire and Egypt will be the final countries to host the trophy on the African continent.

For starters, only ten countries will host the trophy tour in Africa.

The 2018 FIFA World Cup trophy tour kicked off last September in host country Russia and will visit more than 50 countries and regions across six continents, travelling 126,000 kilometers in nine months in the lead-up to the football tournament.

The 2018 FIFA World Cup will be held from June 14-July 15, 2018 in Russia.

  • Addis Ababa, Ethiopia                       February 24-25
  • Nairobi, Kenya                                    February 26-27
  • Maputo, Mozambique                        February 28
  • Johannesburg, South africa              March 1-2
  • Cape Town, South Africa                   March 3
  • Kampala, Uganda                               March 5-6
  • Abuja, Nigeria                                     March 7-8
  • Lagos, Nigeria                                     March 9-10
  • Dakar, Senegal                                    March 11-12
  • Abidjan, Cote d’Ivoire                       March 13-14
  • Cairo, Egypt                                        March 15-16
  • Naples, Italy                                        March 17-19
  • Paris, France                                       March 20-21
  • Cologne, Germany                             March 22-23
  • Oslo, Norway                                      March 24
  • Torshavn, Faroe Islands                   March 24-25
  • Reykjavik, Iceland                              March 25
  • Tucuman, Argentina                          March 27-28
  • Berazategui, Argentina                     March 29
  • Buenos Aires                                       March 30-31
  • Rosario, Argentina                              April 1-2
  • Bogota, Colombia                               April 3-5
  • Panama City, Panama                         April 6
  • San Jose, Costa Rica                           April 7-8
  • Guadalajara, Mexico                           April 9-10
  • Monterrey, Mexico                             April 11-12
  • Mexico City, Mexico                          April 13-15
  • New York, USA                                 April 16
  • Miami, USA                                        April 17
  • Los Angeles, USA                              April 18-20
  • Frankfurt, Germany                          April 22
  • Ulaanbaatar, Mongolia                     April 23
  • Beijing, China P.R                              April 25
  • Shanghai, China P.R                          April 26
  • Tokyo, Japan                                       April 27-28
  • Osaka, Japan                                       April 29-30
  • Vladivostok, Russia                            May 1

David Isabirye is a senior staff writer for Kawowo Sports where he covers most of the major events.

Leave a comment

Please let us know what you think