Lwakata at Kako grounds (Photo by: John Batanudde)

Ponsiano Lwakataka produced a stunning display to convincingly defend his Masaka rally victory over the weekend. 

It was the third round of the National Rally Championship.

‘Mafu Mafu’ as commonly referred to, was at the high boost in the final day, steadily cutting down on his 53 seconds deficit from day one leader Jas Mangat.

His charge even doubled claiming the event lead after stage four. He would later assert his victory with the fastest times of the weekend.

They registered a total time of 1 hour, 15 minutes, 26 seconds.

“Just like I said earlier, I came here to compete for victory. Being the defending winner of this event as well as being home gave me more reasons to fight for the win.

“The event stages were designed for the Mitsubishi, but I was not planning to make it easy for them. That’s why we pushed to the limits to regain the win,” said excited Lwakataka.

Lwakataka now ties with Jas Mangat in the third position on the NRC standings with 160 points after three rounds.

Ronald Sebuguzi and Leon Ssenyange were also on a mission finishing second overall, 55 seconds behind winner Lwakataka.

They collected 80 maximum points to maintain their lead on the NRC leaderboard with 240 points.

Ronald Sebuguzi (Photo: John Batanudde)

Duncan Mubiru and Musa Nsubuga were sublime giving their Subaru GVB the first ever finish in Uganda. It even got better sealing the podium positions in third.

Duncan Mubiru (Photo: John Batanudde)

Day one leader Jas Mangat suffered a mechanical setback after the morning stage which took away his lead as well as suffering a four-minute penalty after delaying in service.

Jas Mangat (Photo: John Batanudde)

He, however, fought back winning all stages to settle fourth overall bagging 60 points to put him third on the leaderboard.

Omar Mayanja survived several mechanical issues to end his contention in the fifth position. 

Kepher Walubi settled for sixth followed by Hassan Alwi and Christakis Fitidis in seventh and eighth respectively. 

Yasin Nasser and Arthur Blick Jr completed the top ten position in ninth and tenth. 

In the two-wheel drive Category, Ismail Waliggo claimed maximum points after securing his first victory of the season.

Samuel Watendwa finished second to maintain his lead on the class championship followed by Fred Senkumba in third. 

Twenty seven crews finished the event of the 38 that started on Saturday. 

Reigning NRC champion was among the casualties of the event with a broken shaft in the penultimate stage. 

Andy Musoke, Yusuf Bukenya, Godfrey Nsereko were among the other causalities of the day.

The next NRC event is scheduled for August 2-4.

Leave a comment

Please let us know what you think