David Isabirye | Kawowo Sports Botswana kicked off with a home 2-0 win over Syechelles

CHAN 2020 Qualifiers:

Botswana 2-0 Seychelles

Eswatini 0-0 Malawi

Botswana kicked off the journey for the African Nations Championship (CHAN) 2020 with 2-0 home win over Islanders Seychelles during the first leg duel played in Lobatse city.

Two second half strikes from Thatayaone Ditlhokwe and Boy Segolame won the game for the Zebras.

Meanwhile, in the other contest, hosts Eswatini and Malawi braved out a non-scoring stalemate at the Mavuso Sports Centre.

The respective second legs are set for Malawi on the 10th of May 2019.

Uganda Cranes will face South Sudan between July 26th – 28th 2019 in the opening round of the first round for the qualifiers.

Forty-seven teams are engaged in the battle for 15 places to join the hosts Ethiopia at the sixth CHAN finals tournament.

Uganda has played at four CHAN Championships in Sudan (2011), South Africa (2014), Rwanda (2016) and Morocco (2018).

Democratic Republic of Congo are the record winners with two titles as Morocco are the reigning champions.

Others qualifiers:

Central Eastern Zone (First Round)

  • Uganda Cranes Vs South Sudan
  • Somalia Vs Rwanda
  • Tanzania Vs Sudan
  • Kenya Vs Burundi

Northern Zone

  • Algeria Vs Morocco
  • Tunisia Vs Libya

Western Zone – A

  • Guinea Bissau Vs Mali
  • Cape Verde Vs Mauritania
  • Liberia Vs Senegal

Western Zone – B:

  • Benin Vs Togo

Round 2

  • Winner Benin/Togo Vs Nigeria
  • Niger Vs Cote D’Voire
  • Ghana Vs Burkina Faso

Central Zone:

Round 1:

  • Central Africa Republic Vs Chad

Round 2:

  • Winner Central Africa Republic/Chad Vs DR Congo
  • Cameroon Vs Sao Tome and Principe
  • Equatorial Guinea Vs Congo

Southern Zone:

Round 1:

  • Botswana Vs Seychelles
  • Swaziland Vs Malawi

Round 2:

  • Winner Botswana/ Seychelles Vs Zambia
  • Winner Malawi/Swaziland Vs Angola
  • Comoros Vs Namibia
  • Madagascar Vs Mozambique
  • Lesotho Vs South Africa
  • Mauritius Island Vs Zimbabwe

Round 3:

  • Winner Botswana / Seychelles Vs Zambia Vs Winner Malawi/Swaziland Vs Angola
  • Winner Comoros / Namibia Vs Winner Madagascar / Mozambique
  • Winner Lesotho / South Africa Vs Mauritius Island / Zimbabwe

The quota for the various zones is as follows:

Northern Zone – 2 teams

Western A Zone – 2 teams

Western B Zone – 3 teams

Central Zone – 3 teams

Central-East Zone – 2 teams + Ethiopia

Southern Zone – 3 teams


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here