Gomba players celebrate their semi-final victory over Busiro to qualify for the 9th final in the Masaza Cup tournament history

Masaza Cup 2020 (Semi-finals) – Thursday, January 21, 2021:

  • Busiro 0 (4) – 0 (5) Gomba
  • Bulemeezi 0-1 Buddu

Every moment on earth is saved for its own lane and time of occurrence.

In the true sense of the matter, Gomba Lions goalkeeper Peter “Dhaira” Katongole had a special golden moment reserved for him against Busiro at the 2020 Masaza Cup hosted by Federation of Uganda Football Associations (FUFA) at their technical Centre in Njeru, Buikwe District on Thursday, January 21, 2021.

Katongole was introduced in the 91st minute for goalkeeper Francis Anguzu and saved Malida Kuteesa’s weak kick from the penalty kick as the Gomba Lions majestically strolled to their ninth final.

Gomba goalkeeper Peter Katongole dives to save Malida Kuteesa’s weak kick from penalty mark

Normal time of the game ended goal-less with a couple of half chances created not converted.

Undisputedly, Gomba is by far the most successful team in the Masaza Cup football competition having made the grade to play in the finals for the 9th time.

In the tense semi-final proper, the Lions roared to the 2020 final after a 5-4 post match penalty victory over an offensive Busiro.

Busiro’s Gerald Ogwet, Arafat Usama, Kuteesa and Julius Magu Kazibwe were kept at bay by the mean Gomba defence.

Gomba’s Jackson Ssemugabi crosses the ball

Gomba kept the provocations especially from left back George Kaddu’s tempting long throw-ins but the tournament top scorer Charles Bbaale, Ali Bayo Arshavin, Jackson Ssemugabi, left winger Colline Seruwu and second half substitute Junior Juma Lutakome were all kept silent.

A few minutes to referee Ali Kaddu’s full time whistle, both sides introduced goalkeepers.

Katongole who is christened Dhaira replaced the towering Anuguzu  for Gomba whilst Juma Kirabira came in for Adadi Mutumba.

During the dramatic shoot out, Busiro missed the very first kick as Katongole easily collected Kuteesa’s weak kick.

George Kaddu executes the customary long throw

Gomba scored their first kick through Charles Bbaale. George Kaddu, Hamis Dagada Kafeero, Derrick Mbowa and captain Abdallah Ssentongo found the back of the net.

Busiro’s four goals in the shoot out were scored by skipper Rogers Adriko, Brian Kasule, Gerald Ogwet and Disty Edward Mubiru.

When Ssentongo struck the final kick, there were wild celebrations from the team players and officials.

Gomba players jubilate their success
Felix Kawooya Ssekabuuza celebrates with forward Jackson Ssemugabi

Gomba had sealed the 9th final appearance as they will take on nemesis Buddu on a date and venue that will be confirmed by the Buganda Kingdom.

Buddu smiled 1-0 over the defending champions Bulemeezi with Titus Ssematimba on target.

The 2020 edition was originally supposed to be held in June, July and August.

The tourney was however delayed because of the Coronavirus pandemic that raged the entire world.

Busiro XI Vs Gomba

Team Line Ups:

Busiro XI: Adadi Mutumba (G.K), Edward Disty Mubiru, Razak Best Mumbere, Brian Kasule, Robert Ssentongo, Badru Kabanda, Arafat Usama, Rogers Adriko, Gerald Ogwet, Malida Kuteesa, Julius Magu Kazibwe

Subs: Amuza Kalibwami, Ivan Ssemwanga, Juma Kirabira, Anobil Mustapha

Busiro technical bench

Team officials:

  • Team manager: Thomas Moore Mujuzi
  • Head coach: Ronald Lukungu
  • Assistant coach: Bright Tadeo Nyanzi
  • Official: Sarah Nanyonjo
Gomba XI Vs Busiro

Gomba XI: Francis Anguzu (G.K), Fred Gift, George Kaddu, Hamis Kafeero Dagada, Abdallah Ssentongo (Captain), Fred Atuhwera, Isaac Musiima, Colline Seruwu, Charles Bbaale, Jackson Ssemugabi, Bayo Ali Arshavin

Subs: Peter Katongole (G.K), Derrick Mbowa, Junior Juma Lutakome, George Kiryowa, Ashraf Zizinga

Gomba Technical Team

Team officials:

  • Team manager: Ibrahim Kirya
  • Head coach: Felix Kawooya Ssekabuuza
  • Assistant coach: Davis Nnono Ssozi
  • Official: Mansoor Kabugo
Gomba and Busiro captains with match officials

Match officials:

  • Referee: Ali Kaddu
  • Assistant Referee 1: Mustapha Mafumu
  • Assistant Referee 2: Robert Kimbugwe
  • 4th Official: Richard Kimbowa
  • Assessor: Ali Tomusange
  • Match commissioner: Francis Bikeka

Masaza Cup Cast of All Winners:

  • 2019 – Bulemeezi
  • 2018 – Singo
  • 2017 – Gomba
  • 2016 – Buddu
  • 2015 – Singo
  • 2014 – Gomba
  • 2013 – Mawokota
  • 2012 – Bulemeezi
  • 2011 – Buluri
  • 2010 – Not Held
  • 2009 – Gomba
  • 2008 – Kyadondo
  • 2007 – Mawokota
  • 2006 – Kooki
  • 2005 – Mawokota
  • 2004 – Gomba

David Isabirye is a senior staff writer for Kawowo Sports where he covers most of the major events.

Leave a comment

Please let us know what you think