Buddu players jubliate their lone goal against Bulemeezi in the 2020 semi-finals

Masaza Cup 2020 (Semi-finals) – Thursday, January 21, 2021:

  • Busiro 0 (4) – 0 (5) Gomba
  • Bulemeezi 0-1 Buddu

In what will be a repeat of the 2016 final of the Masaza Cup tournament, Buddu will face Gomba four years later at the last hurdle stage.

The development comes after Buddu overcame Bulemeezi 1-0 in the well contested semi-final clash played at the FUFA Technical Centre, Njeru on Thursday, January 21, 2021.

Forward Titus Ssematimba scored the all important goal for Michael Skills Lukyamuzi’s coached side.

Ssematimba’s goal arrived as early as the 6th minute of the game played under sunny conditions.

Titus Ssematimba is closed down by Bulemeezi’s Douglas Kizza Lule

It then necessitated for solid defending from the Buddu defence-line that had Angello Kizza, Stephen Muwawu and Edward Namasa.

Bulemeezi had a couple of penalty calls turned down by the referee Vincent Kavuma.

Teenagers Travis Mutyaba, Ismael Kayondo and Masuudi Kafumbe were introduced for Bulemeezi to make an impact and efforts to bring the game level.

Mutyaba came closer with a fierce shot saved by goalkeeper and Buddu captain Farouk Yawe Ssebanja.

Bulemeezi players conduct the Black Lives matter customs before kick off
Bulemeezi XI Vs Buddu

Buddu will now play Gomba who needed a post-match penalty shoot out to out-smart 2019 losing finalists Busiro 5-4.

Normal time between Gomba and Busiro had ended in a non-scoring stalemate.

Charles Bbaale, George Kaddu, Hamis Dagada Kafeero, Derrick Mbowa and captain Abdallah Ssentongo all scored for Gomba.

Busiro’s successful kicks were by skipper Rogers Adriko, Brian Kasule, Gerald Ogwet and Disty Edward Mubiru as Malida Kuteesa was foiled by Gomba goalkeeper Peter Katongole.

The date and venue for the final will be confirmed by the Buganda Kingdom in the nearby future.

The 2020 edition was originally supposed to be held in June, July and August.

The tourney was however delayed because of the Coronavirus pandemic that raged the entire world.

Titus Ssematimba (right) celebrates

This championship does not accommodate players who have played for the Uganda Premier League, FUFA Big League as well as national teams (U-21, U-20, U-23 and the Uganda Cranes).

Gomba are the record champions with four titles to their name in 2004, 2009, 2013 and lately 2017.

Masaza Cup Cast of All Winners:

  • 2019 – Bulemeezi
  • 2018 – Singo
  • 2017 – Gomba
  • 2016 – Buddu
  • 2015 – Singo
  • 2014 – Gomba
  • 2013 – Mawokota
  • 2012 – Bulemeezi
  • 2011 – Buluri
  • 2010 – Not Held
  • 2009 – Gomba
  • 2008 – Kyadondo
  • 2007 – Mawokota
  • 2006 – Kooki
  • 2005 – Mawokota
  • 2004 – Gomba

David Isabirye is a senior staff writer for Kawowo Sports where he covers most of the major events.

Leave a comment

Please let us know what you think