Innocent Gwokto (Heathens) takes on David Agasi (Buffaloes)
  • Nile Special Stout Rugby Premier League – Matchday Two
  • 4pm: Buffaloes vs Heathens
  • Kyadondo Rugby Grounds

Friends will become foes when Buffaloes take on Heathens on Saturday in the Kyadondo Derby. This will be in matchday two of the Nile Special Stout Rugby Premier League.

Both sides come off inspiring wins on the opening weekend at the same venue. Buffaloes beat Rams in the early kickoff before Heathens overcame Pirates.

On the front row, Ronald Kanyanya and Emmanuel Byamugisha who started last weekend are out of the squad. Alex Mubiru and Boaz Musasizi will start in their places respectively. The vacuum left behind by captain Michael Wokorach at second center has been filled by Innocent Gwokto with Jordan Bongomin getting the start at inside center. Additionally, the Sebuliba experiment at flanker for Heathens has ended with the bulky winger out of the matchday squad altogether.

Props Akampa Arthur and Kafeero have swapped positions from last weekend with the second row pairing of Ogwal and Toolit being maintained. Similarly, Donald Oketayot and Brian Tabaruka have swapped places from flyhalf and fullback respectively.

It will be debut day for Levis Ocen and Bishop Onen at the Buffaloes wings. Onen crossed from Heathens while Ocen made the move from Daystar Falcons in Kenya.

Levis Ocen

Heathens’ objective will be to collect maximum points from their Kyadondo counterparts while Buffaloes’ will be to ascend to the top of the food chain at the rugby club.

Buffaloes squad:

  • Starting: 1 Akampa Arthur, 2 Kiyimba Abdul Shakur, 3 Kafeero Robert, 4 Toolit Eric, 5 Ogwal Romano, 6 Agassi David, 7 Agany Solomon, 8 Adebua Marlon, 9 Makmot Ivan Kevin, 10 Tabaruka Brian, 11 Onen Bishop, 12 Walker Liam, 13 Seguya Wilfred, 14 Ocen Levis, 15 Oketayot Donald.
  • Substitutes: 16 Watmon Hassan Faruk, 17 Ochaka Kenneth, 18 Kamara Paul, 19 Pirio Bob Ken, 20 Odoch Morgan Ivan, 21 Wasswa Jeremiah, 22 Wanyoto Aaron, 23 Odhiambo Ivan.

Heathens squad:

  • Starting: 1 Santos Senteza, 2 Alex Mubiru, 3 Boaz Musasizi, 4 Charles Uhuru, 5 Gideon Kaihura, 6 Kato Reynolds, 7 Aziz Khan, 8 Scott Oluoch, 9 Paul Epillo, 10 Aaron Ofoyrwoth, 11 Claude Ivan Otema, 12 Jordan Bongomin, 13 Innocent Gwokto Thomas, 14 Okeny Norbert, 15 Joseph Oyet.
  • Substitutes: 16 Herbert Champara, 17 Victor Wangobo, 18 Gerald Sewankambo, 19 Patrick Okello, 20 Kenneth Okong, 21 Chris Lubanga, 22 Joseph Bulago, 23 Trevor Ochan.

Ernest Akorebirungi is an amateur rugby player and a keen follower of local Ugandan rugby.

Leave a comment

Please let us know what you think