Annet Namwenge of Ajax Queens takes on a Vision WFC defender. (Credit: Stephen L Mayamba)

FUFA has confirmed the new season of the 2021/22 Women Elite League will kickoff on 13th March 2022.

It should be noted that the second division was supposed to get underway on 14th last month but the organizers were forced to push it to a new date after failure by many clubs to meet the licensing minimum standards.

Unlike the previous editions that have had 16 clubs, the new season will only feature 12 clubs that were able to pass the grade.

Amuria High School WFC, Vision FC, St. Peters SS WFC and Town View SS from Bugiri failed to comply.

The teams have been pooled into two groups under brand names; Elizabeth and Victoria with each comprising of six teams.

According to FUFA, the grouping has been done based on the location of teams to ease the burden of transport during the league.

The leaders of each group after a round robbin format (home and away) will get promoted to FUFA Women Super League.

The Groups

Elizabeth Group
Acholi Queens
Dynamic Jjeza WFC
Kataka She FC
Wakiso Hills WFC
Makerere University WFC

Victoria Group
King of Kings WFC
Bunyaruguru Girls FC
Asubo Gafford Ladies
Isra Soccer Academy
Luweero Giant Queens
Ajax Queens FC

Joel Muyita

Joel Muyita is a senior staff writer at Kawowo Sports.

Leave a comment

Please let us know what you think Cancel reply