Buwekula officials receive their jersey last season

The head of Buwekula county (Ssaza), Luwekula Immaculate Nantayi Kafeero has announced a 11 man management committee of officials that will oversee the running of the team in the 2020 Airtel sponsored Masaza football championship.

For starters, this year’s tournament is planned to kick off in June should the health situation (COVID-19 pandemic) improve.

Edward Mawanda is the chairperson of the committee.

He will be deputized by Ben Wagaba. The General Secretary is Joseph Kakooza, Richard Kiyonga (team manager), Leondina Nasozi (Treasurer) and Simon Babumba (Team doctor), among others.

Nantayi confessed that she has a lot of trust in this management team with hope they will deliver the team to the promised land.

She has urged the people of Buwekula and well-wishers to accord the committee all the necessary support.

The treasured Buwekula shirt used last season

Greetings to all the people of Buwekula Ssaza. Despite the telling period of COVID-19 where we are also experiencing a lock-down and a curfew, we have appointed the team committee. I hope we shall overcome these periods. I call upon the people of Buwekula and the well-wishers to support this committee so that we perform well. Let us respect the conditions set by the President and the officials from the Ministry of Health so that we live healthier lives. Let us wash our hands at all times and maintain the social distancing.

Luwekula Immaculate Nantayi Kafeero, Head of Buwekula Ssaza

Meanwhile, Buwekula is closing down on Simon “Dunga” Ddungu as head coach for the team.

The two parties are believed to be in final negotiations for favourable terms before inking the employment contract.

Buwekula has never won this championship that attracts all the 18 counties within Buganda Kingdom.

Buwekula Ssaza management team:

  • Chief: Luwekula Immaculate Nantayi Kafeero
  • Chairperson: Edward Mawanda
  • Vice Chairperson: Ben Wagaba
  • General Secretary: Joseph Kakooza
  • Team manager: Richard Kiyonga
  • Treasurer: Leondina “Ssenga” Nasozi
  • Team Doctor: Simon Babumba

Past Winners:

  • 2019: Bulemeezi
  • 2018: Singo
  • 2017: Gomba
  • 2016: Buddu
  • 2015: Singo
  • 2014: Gomba
  • 2013: Mawokota
  • 2012: Bulemeezi
  • 2011: Buluri
  • 2010: Not Held
  • 2009: Gomba
  • 2008: Kyadondo
  • 2007: Mawokota
  • 2006: Kooki
  • 2005: Mawokota
  • 2004: Gomba

ALSO READ: Kyadondo names 31 man management committee

David Isabirye is a senior staff writer for Kawowo Sports where he covers most of the major events.

Leave a comment

Please let us know what you think