Marvin Kavuma recieves the trophy from Kabaka Ronald Muwenda Mutebi II

Masaza Cup 2021 climax:

  • Third place: Bulemeezi 1-0 Mawokota
  • Final: Buwekula 0-2 Buddu

Individual awards:

  • Most Valuable Player (MVP): Michael Lutaaya (Buddu)
  • Top scorer: Isaac Musiima (Buwekula) – 6 Goals

Buddu Ssaza Football team won their second ever title in the Buganda Masaza championship.

To achieve this feat, Buddu, sons and daughters of Pokino (Ssaza head) overcame a hard fighting Buwekula side 2-0 in the closely contest final at a fully filled St Mary’s Stadium in Kitende – Wakiso district, Busiro county.

Two second half goals from captain Marvin Kavuma and Bruno Bunyaga broke the resilience of Buwekula in an epic clash.

Buddu captain Marvin Kavuma in action against Buwekula

The opening stanza had failed to produce any goals with both sides getting close until Kavuma’s header past goalkeeper Isaac Kwizera Onyango gave the 2016 champions the lead.

Moments later, Bunyaga finished off Gideon Odongo’s free-kick from 35 yards for the second goal on the sunny evening.

Bruno Bunyaga shows the potriat of his three month daughter who passed on three days to the final

Bunyaga’s goal was merely icing on the already bake cake, his sixth strike of the championship coming three days after the unfortunate demise of his three-month daughter.

“I am humbled to have guided Buddu to this trophy. We are overwhelmed by this victory. I thank the rest of the teammates, fans, organizing committee and the Kingdom of Buganda for this opportunity” Buddu captain, Marvin Kavuma told the media moments after.

Kabaka Mutebi II arrives from the dug-out to preside over the final match
Kabaka Mutebi II greets Buwekula’s Anthony Kirumira Kizito

His counterpart at Buwekula, Shafik Kakande hailed the fighting spirit of his teammates throughout the tournament.

“We played a decent tournament and I thank my teammates for the work well done right from the group stages. It is only unfortunate that we lost the final” Kakande noted.

Buddu received Shs 12,000,000 for the feat, a trophy and gold medals whilst the runners up Buwekula pocketed Shs 9,000,000 with silver medals.

Katikiro Charles Peter Mayiga talks to the Kabaka Ronald Muwenda Mutebi II
Kabaka Mutebi II moments before kick off

The finale was graced by the Kabaka His Majesty Ronald Muwenda Mutebi II who had missed the previous final as Gomba beat Buddu 3-1 at the same venue to win their fifth unprecedented title.

The third place play-off match between Bulemeezi and Mawokota was won by the latter 1-0 courtesy of a lone goal by Gabriel Eragu.

Eragu headed home the all-important goal towards the climax of the game.

Bulemeezi earned Shs 7,000,000 for the third place finish as Mawokota took home Shs. 5,000,000.

Bulemeezi captains with their 7,000,000 dummy cheque
Buddu goalkeepr Michael Lutaaya shows off his MVP award

Individual awards:

Buddu’s goalkeeper Michael Lutaaya was named as the tournament most valuable player.

Buwekula’s midfielder Isaac Musiima, winner of the 2020 edition with Gomba was the top scorer with six goals.

Buwekula creative midfielder Isaac Musiima picks his top scorer plaque.

The preparations for the 2022 edition take immediate effect according to the chairman of the local organizing committee Sulaiman Ssejjengo.

“We are behind schedule having been disturbed by the Coronavirus pandemic. Therefore, preparations for the 2022 edition start immediately. I thank all the stakeholders who have helped us organize the 17th edition successfully” Ssejjengo revealed.

Kabaka Mutebi II greets some of the Buddu team players

Owek. Henry Moses Ssekabembe Kiberu lauded the all the parties at play that helped in organizing this championship and making it a complete success.

“I am humbled that once again Buganda Kingdom managed to stage a successful championship amidst the Coronavirus pandemic. I am grateful for all the helped us organize a successful tournament. From the Buganda Kingdom itself, organizing committee, the different Masaza teams, sponsors, management of St Mary’s Stadium, media and everyone who did his part right” Owek. Ssekabembe remarked.

Buddu’s dummy cheque presented to captain Marvin Kavuma
Buddu players and officials celebrate with their trophy

Gomba remains the record champions with 5 titles to their name.

Players who have elevated to the senior national team (Uganda), FUFA Big League (second division) and Uganda Premier League (first division) are not allowed to play in this tournament.

Airtel, Centenary Bank, Nabagereka development foundation, UNAIDS are some of the partners for this tournament.

Buwekula XI Vs Buddu

Team Line Ups:

Buwekula XI: Isaac Kwizera Onyango (G.K), Alex Kizito, Emmanuel Yiga, Stuart Otunnu, Anthony Kirumira Kizito, Benard Alijuna, Ismail Tamubula, Michael Abura, Abdul Nsereko, Isaac Musiima, Shafik Kakande (Captain)
Subs: Nassif Kamulegeya (G.K), Michael Kimera Kimmich, Raymond Marvin Witaikire, Lucky Johnson Kasajja, Ivan Ssemujju, Joram Nsubuga, Patrick Mubiru, Walter Alele, Fahad Jumbe

Buwekula officials and subsistute players
Buwekula coaches

Head coach: Frank Mulindwa

Assistant coach: Prince Geofrey Juuko

Buddu XI Vs Buwekula

Buddu XI: Michael Lutaaya (G.K), Harunah Lukwago, Gideon Odongo, Jonathan Oluka, Abdallah Ssentongo, Ayman Twaha, Fahad Nsamba, Geofrey Gaganga, Bruno Bunyaga, Marvin Kavuma (Captain), Sharif Ssengendo

Subs: Nasif Kabuye, Steven Muwawu, Jaffer Kaziro, Edward Namasa, Ismail Lamtara, Vianney Bukenya, Brian Omirambe

Buddu coaches and other officials

Head coach: Steven Bogere

Assistant coach: Andy Ssali

Team captains for Buwekula and Buddu with the match officials prior to kick off

Match officials:

  • Center Referee: Henry Musisi
  • Assistant Referee 1: Michael Kalule
  • Assistant Referee 2: Brianson Musisi
  • Fourth official: Julius Kasibante
  • Assessor: Brian Miiro Nsubuga
  • Commissioner: Samuel Mpiima
Match officials who handed the final show off their medals
Some of the Masaza Cup organizing committee members show off their medals
Masaza Cup media committee members

Buwekula road to final:

Group Stages:

Knock out round:

Buddu Road to Finals:

Group Stages:

Knock out round:

Past Winners:

  • 2020: Gomba
  • 2019: Bulemeezi
  • 2018: Singo
  • 2017: Gomba
  • 2016: Buddu
  • 2015: Singo
  • 2014: Gomba
  • 2013: Mawokota
  • 2012: Bulemeezi
  • 2011: Buluri
  • 2010: Not Held
  • 2009: Gomba
  • 2008: Kyadondo
  • 2007: Mawokota
  • 2006: Kooki
  • 2005: Mawokota
  • 2004: Gomba
A member of the Masaza Cup organizing committee carries the trophy before the fans
Fans in one of the sections at St Mary’s Stadium, Kitende
A section of fans who watched the finals at St Mary’s Stadium, Kitende
Buwekula and Buddu teams prior to kick off

David Isabirye is a senior staff writer for Kawowo Sports where he covers most of the major events.

Leave a comment

Please let us know what you think Cancel reply